Skip to main content
HomeIDRC 2018 Awards



The CNIRS is pleased to announce that FossNA will be sponsoring the Gerald S. Birth Award. Foss has more than 60 years of experience as a leading provider of dedicated analytical solutions to maximize value of production of agricultural food products.


The Gerald S. Birth Award, conferred every two years for an outstanding publication describing innovation in diffuse reflection or diffuse transmission spectroscopy, is administered by the CNIRS in memory of Gerald Birth. It is fitting that Gerry Birth had major interest in developing instrumentation for the measurement of agricultural products.

Call for Nominations - please read.


Birth Award Winners
 Award Winner         
 2004  Peter R. Griffiths  University of Idaho, Moscow, Idaho
 2006  Yukihiro Ozaki
 Kwansei Gakuin University, Sanda, Japan
 2008  James Burger
 Burgermetrics, Jelgava, Latvia
 2010  David H. Burns  McGill University, Montreal, Canada
 2012  Michael Myrick  University of South Carolina, Columbia, South Carolina
 2014  Donald J. Dahm
 Rowan University, Glassboro, New Jersey
 2016  Eric B. Brauns  University of Idaho, Moscow, Idaho